Dated: June 19th, 2023


Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, Participating Teams, Venues, Timetable, Rankings & Predictions

Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, Participating Teams, Venues, Match Timetable
The ICC (International Cricket Council) has announced the schedule for the highly anticipated Cricket World Cup 2023. The tournament will begin on October 5 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The opening match will be between defending champions England and the finalists of the last two editions, New Zealand.
Pakistan will start their campaign on the second day of the tournament, facing one of the qualified teams from the ongoing World Cup Qualifiers 2023. Bangladesh and Afghanistan will also begin their campaign on October 7 when they play against each other.
The second team to qualify from the World Cup qualifiers will play against South Africa on October 7 in the second match of the day. The host country, India, will kick off their campaign against Australia at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on October 8, which falls on a Sunday.
The tournament will follow a round-robin format, where all 10 teams will play against each other once. After the league stage, the top four teams in the points table will advance to the knockout stages, which will start on November 15. The winners of the semi-finals will compete in the final match on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium.
The forthcoming Cricket World Cup 2023 - Schedule
Date Day Match Venue Time (IST)
05-Oct-23 Thursday England vs New Zealand Ahmedabad 2:00 P.M
06-Oct-23 Friday Pakistan vs Qualifier 1 Hyderabad 2:00 P.M
07-Oct-23 Saturday Bangladesh vs Afghanistan Dharamsala 10:30 A.M
07-Oct-23 Saturday South Africa vs Qualifier 2 Delhi 2:00 P.M
08-Oct-23 Sunday India vs Australia Chennai 2:00 P.M
09-Oct-23 Monday New Zealand vs Qualifier 1 Hyderabad 2:00 P.M
10-Oct-23 Tuesday England vs Bangladesh Dharamsala 2:00 P.M
11-Oct-23 Wednesday India vs Afghanistan Delhi 2:00 P.M
12-Oct-23 Thursday Pakistan vs Qualifier 2 Hyderabad 2:00 P.M
13-Oct-23 Friday Australia vs South Africa Lucknow 2:00 P.M
14-Oct-23 Saturday New Zealand vs Bangladesh Chennai 10:30 A.M
14-Oct-23 Saturday England vs Afghanistan Delhi 2:00 P.M
15-Oct-23 Sunday India vs Pakistan Ahmedabad 2:00 P.M
16-Oct-23 Monday Australia vs Qualifier 2 Lucknow 2:00 P.M
17-Oct-23 Tuesday South Africa vs Qualifier 1 Dharamsala 2:00 P.M
18-Oct-23 Wednesday New Zealand vs Afghanistan Chennai 2:00 P.M
19-Oct-23 Thursday India vs Bangladesh Pune 2:00 P.M
20-Oct-23 Friday Australia vs Pakistan Bengaluru 2:00 P.M
21-Oct-23 Saturday Qualifier 1 vs Qualifier 2 Lucknow 10:30 A.M
21-Oct-23 Saturday England vs South Africa Mumbai 2:00 P.M
22-Oct-23 Sunday India vs New Zealand Dharamsala 2:00 P.M
23-Oct-23 Monday Pakistan vs Afghanistan Chennai 2:00 P.M
24-Oct-23 Tuesday South Africa vs Bangladesh Mumbai 2:00 P.M
25-Oct-23 Wednesday Australia vs Qualifier 1 Delhi 2:00 P.M
26-Oct-23 Thursday England vs Qualifier 2 Bengaluru 2:00 P.M
27-Oct-23 Friday Pakistan vs South Africa Chennai 2:00 P.M
28-Oct-23 Saturday Australia vs New Zealand Dharamsala 10:30 A.M
28-Oct-23 Saturday Qualifier 1 vs Bangladesh Kolkata 2:00 P.M
29-Oct-23 Sunday India vs England Lucknow 2:00 P.M
30-Oct-23 Monday Afghanistan vs Qualifier 2 Pune 2:00 P.M
31-Oct-23 Tuesday Pakistan vs Bangladesh Kolkata 2:00 P.M
01-Nov-23 Wednesday New Zealand vs South Africa Pune 2:00 P.M
02-Nov-23 Thursday India vs Qualifier 2 Mumbai 2:00 P.M
03-Nov-23 Friday Qualifier 1 vs Afghanistan Lucknow 2:00 P.M
04-Nov-23 Saturday New Zealand vs Pakistan Bengaluru 10:30 A.M
04-Nov-23 Saturday England vs Australia Ahmedabad 2:00 P.M
05-Nov-23 Sunday India vs South Africa Kolkata 2:00 P.M
06-Nov-23 Monday Bangladesh vs Afghanistan Mumbai 2:00 P.M
The 2023 Cricket World Cup is the premier cricket tournament in the world, featuring fifty-over matches played once every four years. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has been diligently planning to ensure the success of this World Cup in India.
With five titles to their name, Australia stands as the most successful team in the history of the tournament. Defending champions England, who also clinched the T20 World Cup in 2022, are considered strong contenders for the 2023 World Cup. Host nation India holds the advantage of playing on their home ground.
India vs Pakistan scheduled for October 15 in ODI World Cup Draft Schedule
One of the highly anticipated clashes in the draft schedule of the ODI World Cup is the India vs Pakistan match, which is set to take place on October 15 in Ahmedabad. Ahmedabad, renowned for its stadium with a seating capacity of over 100,000, will also host the tournament opener between England and New Zealand on October 5.
These two teams engaged in the thrilling tied final in 2019. India will commence their campaign against Australia in Chennai three days later. These marquee contests are part of the initial draft schedule prepared by the BCCI.
After the BCCI shared the draft schedule with the ICC, it was then circulated to the participating countries for their valuable feedback. A final schedule is expected to be released early next week.
Although the draft schedule does not disclose the venues for the semi-finals, it is anticipated that they will be held on November 15 and 16. The grand finale is scheduled to take place on November 19 in Ahmedabad, the same venue as the opening match.
India league matches in the ODI World Cup are scheduled to be held at nine different venues. Here is India itinerary:
The BCCI has forwarded the draft of India match schedule for the 2023 Cricket World Cup to the ICC.
Tournament Format:
The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup will feature 10 teams, mirroring the format from 2019. The tournament will follow the same structure as the 1992 and 2019 editions, employing a round-robin format where each team competes against the others. Following the round-robin stage, four teams will advance to the semi-finals, with the top two teams progressing to the final.
Team Qualification:
Eight teams, including the host nation India, will automatically qualify for the 2023 Cricket World Cup based on their rankings. The remaining two spots will be determined through the 2022-2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League matches.
Teams Qualified for the 2023 Cricket World Cup:
India, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Pakistan, West Indies, Australia, New Zealand, and England have all qualified for the 2023 World Cup, securing their places in the tournament.
The remaining teams, the Netherlands, Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and Ireland will compete in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, where two teams will emerge victorious and earn their spots in the 2023 World Cup.
Current Ranking of the Cricket Teams:
Match Venues:
A total of 13 stadiums in India have been selected as potential venues for the Cricket World Cup 2023. The qualification of each stadium to host the matches is yet to be determined.
Cricket World Cup Champions List:
Here is a list of the victorious teams in the ICC Men Cricket World Cup from 1975 to 2023:
Frequently Asked Questions:
Q1. Which nation is set to host the 2023 Cricket World Cup?
A1. The 2023 Cricket World Cup will be hosted by India.
Q2. Which teams have qualified to participate in the 2023 Cricket World Cup?
A2. The eight qualified teams for the 2023 Cricket World Cup are England, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, India (as the host nation), and Australia. Two additional teams will qualify through the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier.
Q3. Who are the top contenders to win the World Cup in 2023?
A3. India is considered a strong contender to emerge victorious in the 13th edition of the ODI World Cup Cricket in 2023.
Blog Tags